I had a good long talk with a close friend of mine today. We both have been busy with jobs, internships, and school and we haven’t sat down and had a good heart-to-heart in a long time. She has been one of my best friends since fourth grade and we both have changed so much since then and I realized that today but we are still so similar that we can talk like we never stopped talking.

            Every girl needs a friend like that. But sometimes even these friends don’t see eye-to-eye. I’m a senior in high school and this means that yes, most of our innocence have been lost. It’s the way high school works. You’re almost expected to loose your virginity before you leave; if you don’t then you’re a prude. I made it a point to make it someone I truly loved and knew damn well I loved. We waited about 10 months, a long time compared to most, correction, all of my friends. I see them fall hard and fast and then get dumped right after the guy gets sex. And I’ve even seen this happen to some of my close guy friends. I just learned my close friend has trusted a boy she’s been dating for 5 months with her body.

            What I want to know is how long do you think it’s okay to wait? Marriage, a month, a year, a few dates? I had always told myself I wanted to know that if he got me pregnant he wouldn’t leave me and I am sure of that with my current boyfriend. I just feel like there is no way to know that it wont be a hump and dump unless they are willing to go a long time with you without sex. I worry that my friends will be heart-broken, which most of them have been at this point. I have a friend who trusted a guy and the day after she lost her virginity to him he dumped her. They had been dating a month. My boyfriend and I waited 10 months and have been together for almost two years since then. I have not seen a single relationship last this long with people who didn’t wait.

            If anyone is reading this blog I want to hear your experiences. If you see the same things I do or if you think I’m being crazy thinking that you should wait as long as I’m saying you should. I know some people thought I was crazy going as long as I did but I wanted to make sure I wasn’t doing something that intimate with someone who wasn’t going to love me for a good long time. I know my friend loves this guy and I support her no matter what, but I worry she is going to get hurt. She’s like a sister to me and it hurts me to see a sister go through that much pain.

            I just want to know what you all think, if there’s anyone out on this massive Internet that has seen my blog, tell me. Am I wrong, can this work for my friend, or will she be like the rest and end up crying on my shoulder?

Image

Photo cred: http://www.independent.co.uk/news/science/how-leaping-into-bed-harms-relationships-8100740.html

